Nu Theta Zeta History

Nu Theta Zeta History

Nu Theta Zeta chapter was chartered on May 31, 1986 in Warrensville Heights, Ohio.  Dr. Edith V Francis, 18th National President of the Sorority, conducted the ceremony.

Sixty Six Sisters dressed in white greeted guests.  Various distinguished members of the community came out to welcome Nu Theta Zeta to the Greater Cleveland area and specifically Warrensville Heights, Ohio.

Nu Theta Zeta is a non profit organization.  Our purpose is to foster the ideals of SERVICE, SCHOLARSHIP, SISTERHOOD and FINER WOMANHOOD!  These ideas are reflected in the sorority’s national programs

The proud Charter signers are: Sister Ernestine Baker, Sister Suejette Kinds*, Sister Sylvia Lacy, Sister Ramona Sancho, Sister Louise Williams*, Sister Geraldine Winter Hurns, and Sister Hester Shoto*.

Original chapter members in addition to charter members are:

Sister Rhonda Arterberrie
Sister Cheryl Booker
Sister Norma Downs
Sister Oretha Carpenter
Sister Patricia Jones
Sister Dorothy Neal
Sister Dora Miller
Sister Hildred Morris
Sister Loretta Rush*
Sister Quinita Underwood
Sister Leevy Vaughn
Sister Dorthea Walker*.

* indicates triumphant Sister

Early Years of Nu Theta Zeta